Forums -> UltraMon™ -> Windows 7 - Applying a profile that disables the primary monitor and makes a second [previously disabled] monitor primary breaks all profiles
Mikey   2009-08-20 09:03
Short Version: When applying a profile that BOTH switches the primary monitor AND disconnects the current primary monitor, the profile does nothing. Furthermore once in this state, all profiles no longer work until the monitor is re-enabled in the normal Windows 7 Resolution screen.

------
Details:

I have two monitors on video-card 1 and a 1080 plasma on card 2.

Running Windows 7 (x64 both RC and RTM)...

Generally I setup my profiles to "single monitor" "two-monitors," "plasma only," etc..

This only happens in Windows 7 and has been occurring in both 3.0.6 and 3.0.7. (I am running a dual-boot system and the Vista partition runs fine. In addition, changing something in the normal Windows resolution screen resolves the "profile broken" state.)

Reproduction Steps (I am a Software Engineer ;)

1) Start with a system with two or more monitors on Windows 7. (Let's call it Monitor 1 and Monitor 2)

2) Create a Display Profile A:
Primary: Monitor 1
Extended: Monitor 2

3) Create another Display Profile B:
Primary Monitor 1
[Monitor 2 Disconnected]

--Verify That you can switch between both profiles without trouble.

5) Add another profile:
Primary: Monitor 2
Extended: Monitor 1

--Verify that everything is still peachy

6) Add another profile C (but do not apply it yet:)
Primary: Monitor 2
[Monitor 1 Disconnected]

7) Apply Profile B (Monitor 1 Only)

8) Apply Profile C.

--Verify that NOTHING happens. Furthermore ALL display profiles no longer work.

--Verify that going into "Screen Resolution" and re-enabling monitor 2 puts the system back to normal state.

--Verify that ALL other combination work; I think the key is that Ultramon does not like switching to a primary monitor that is currently disconnected.

I hope this helps. I took the time because I LOVE this app!!!

MikeY